Biological "tailors"

A multidisciplinary and creative research environment is formed by combining groups with a broad knowledge of physical and chemical materials science as well as biology and molecular engineering to understand and develop new concepts for materials and programmable systems.

HYBER is formed by 4 PIs with groups of:


Self-Assembled Materials

Professor Olli Ikkala
Department of Applied Physics, Aalto University

The multidisciplinary Molecular Materials group consists of physicists and chemists aiming at functional materials based on self-assembly and its hierarchies. We use polymers, conjugated polymers, polypeptides, liquid crystals, cellulose nanofibers and other carbon-based materials as structural units in supramolecular assemblies.


Aalto University Linder Markus

Protein Genetic Engineering for Materials

Professor Markus Linder
Department of Bioproducts and Biosystems, Aalto University

Biomolecular materials group seeks to understand and utilize biological design strategies for materials.


 Orlando Rojas_web.jpg

Plant Cells for Materials

Professor Orlando Rojas
Department of Bioproducts and Biosystems, Aalto University

Bio-based Colloids and Materials group works in the area of natural polymers, nanocelluloses and the assembly behavior of natural surfactants and biopolymers. We study adsorption, adhesion and interfacial phenomena in lignocellulose and renewable systems.




Merja Penttilä.jpg

Biological Production and Synthetic Biology

Professor Merja Penttilä
VTT / Department of Bioproducts and Biosystems, Aalto University

VTT Industrial Biotechnology develops novel biotechnological production concepts for bioproducts. By developing more efficient production strains, enzymes and processes, we create added value for our partners. VTT has expertise in the whole value chain from biomass to products, and versatile facilities for process scale-up and piloting. Our solutions for the sustainable production are based on renewable resources.


Aalto University Janne Laine

Former PI
Plant Cells for Materials

Professor Janne Laine
Department of Bioproducts and Biosystems, Aalto University

The naturally inherent, interdisciplinary Forest Products Surface Chemistry group is aiming to maintain a state-of the-art research program in forest products chemistry that meets the needs and combines the modern bio-based material science and university education. Currently Prof. Laine acts as the Dean of Aalto University's School of Chemical Technology.


HYBER members are also

Mauri Kostiainen.jpg Biohybrid Materials Professor Mauri Kostiainen         

Päivi Laaksonen.jpg  Nanostructures and Materials Professor Päivi Laaksonen

Robin Ras.jpg Soft Matter and Wetting Professor Robin Ras

Janne Ruokolainen.jpg Nanomicroscopy Center Professor Janne Ruokolainen

Jaakko_Timonen.png Active Matter Professor Jaakko Timonen



Visiting Professor

Pierangelo Metrangolo.jpg

Folding with Halogen Bonding

Professor Pierangelo Metrangolo
Department of Chemistry, Materials, and Chemical Engineering “Giulio Natta”, Politecnico di Milano

Metrangolo's research interests include crystal engineering, fluorine chemistry, supramolecular, and biomimetic materials.  Nanostructured Fluorinated Materials group focuses on the study of the self-assembly properties of halocarbons and their interactions with biomolecules for applications in the fields of functional materials and nanomedicine.

He is the holder of an ERC-StG2012 grant with project “FOLDHALO – Folding with Halogen Bonding”, aimed at investigating the relevance of halogen bonding in biological systems. Aalto University, the Department of Applied Physics act as an other benficiary of the FOLDHALO ERC-StG2012 grant.